• 10 Meter

From General Mdk@VERT/PGG to All on Sun Feb 10 00:04:00 2008
    I am new to Ham Radio. My call sign is KD0BVI I drive a big truck
    and I purchased a Ranger 2950 on ebay. I tried to make contact in the 28.465 freq. I scanned and scanned to just listen. In the USB range. I heard nothing. I have it running on a new Wilson 2000 whip. I had no SWR memter at the time. But had a brand new 18 foot coaxial made. I put the whip in the mount about an inch. It seems to be okay the built in SWR meter in the radio or the bars on the left side don't seem to light up so I believe its good. On uggggg 19 the Radio kicks ass and everyone says it sounds good.
    Where are most of the hams at on 10 meters? And what about split channels? I know how to make all the functions work but not sure how to use it. I hope to get me a good 220/440 2 meter if I can slip it past the woman if you know what I mean, I heard 10 meters went to crap. I figured it might be good in the area I was at by the Gulf of Mexico on I -275 right by the water in Florida. I always thought water would make good skip. Calling CQ...

G e n e r a l /\/\ [) ]< - KD0BVI

---
    þ Synchronet þ Play Ground Gentoo [PGG] - Boone, Iowa
  • From W8ZZU@VERT/SCANNER to General Mdk on Sun Feb 10 14:56:00 2008
    Re: 10 Meter
    By: General Mdk to All on Sat Feb 09 2008 06:04 pm

I am new to Ham Radio. My call sign is KD0BVI I drive a big truck and I purchased a Ranger 2950 on ebay. I tried to make contact in the 28.465 freq. I scanned and scanned to just listen. In the USB range. I heard nothing. I have it running on a new Wilson 2000 whip. I had no SWR memter at the time. But had a brand new 18 foot coaxial made. I put the whip in the mount about an inch. It seems to be okay the built in SWR
    meter in the radio or the bars on the left side don't seem to light up so I believe its good. On uggggg 19 the Radio kicks ass and everyone says it sounds good.