• Java Programming.

From Phoenix@VERT/COMNET to All on Fri Jan 1 06:00:07 2016
    Happy New Year to you all ;)

Im new to programming and looking to make it my new years mission to learn a programming language.

The two I looked at was Python & Java.

I think i have settled on Java as this is more powerful (So Im Told) as it
    can run on more systems.

Are there any good books I should be looking at or that someone would
    recommend for a total beginner.

My only programming I have done was on a BBC Micro at school about 20 years
    ago on Basic doing simple For Next loops and print.

Any help would be great,

Phoenix.

---
    þ Synchronet þ ComNet BBS - 86.43.113.93
  • From Nightfox@VERT/DIGDIST to Phoenix on Thu Dec 31 23:10:12 2015

Happy New Year to you too :)

Im new to programming and looking to make it my new years mission to learn a programming language.

I think either of those would be good as a first programming language, but why only those two? I think C# is also a fairly good language. Also, although C++ is an older language, C++ is still used fairly commonly, and updates to the C++ standard are even happening more frequently now than in the past. C++ also has some features that other languages don't (such as multiple inheritance and more direct memory management), so it can be worthwhile to look at C++ to get an understanding of some of those concepts.

I think i have settled on Java as this is more powerful (So Im Told) as it can run on more systems.

I suppose technically, Java does run on more systems (I've heard of it being supported even in some embedded systems), but I'm not sure that matters a whole lot for a beginner. There are Python interpreters for Windows, Linux, UNIX, and Mac OS X, so if you're just starting to get into programming, you would certainly be able to use Python easily if you wanted to.